Redesigned (Off The Subject #2) – Denise Grover Swank


Redesigned (Off The Subject #2) - Denise Grover Swank

 

While fashion design major Caroline Hunter may have been born economically unlucky, in college, she’s been lucky in love. Until her senior year at Southern University. She’s gone from a serious long term boyfriend to a string of crappy dates.

Then she meets mathematics grad student Reed Pendergraft.

Reed is everything she’s not looking for. Serious. Headed for a low paying university job. Boring. Caroline spent the first eighteen years of her life wondering where her next meal was coming from. She sure wasn’t getting trapped in that life again with a man living on a professor’s salary.

An encounter with Reed in a club proves she might have pegged him wrong. He brings out a lusty side she never knew she had. But just when she’s about to give in to her hormones, Reed makes a fool out of her. 

When she shows up for the first committee meeting for Southern University’s Fall fashion show, a fundraiser for underprivileged kids, Caroline’s horrified to discover the insufferable Reed is the committee chairman. While she refuses to tolerate his totalitarian rule of the committee, she’s not sure she’ll survive the month with her heart—and her pride—intact. Just when she thinks she has everything figured out, she finds that her entire life has been redesigned, thanks to Reed Pendergraft.

 

 

★★★★☆

I am so glad I finally read this book. It’s been on my to-read list ever since it was first published in June, but even though it has a quite nice avergae rating of 4 point something on Goodreads, I didn’t really think it would be my kind of book.

To be honest, I’m the typical bombshell bad boy book kind of girl, which this, at first glance, did not seem to be. I mean, who would’ve thought a freaking math major could be this alpha hottie?

Anyway, even though I did mostly like NA books, set in college, with a sexy, popular man-whore with a reputation, I think Redesigned might’ve just topped those kinds of books. I was getting tired of the same old childish storylines where only names seem to be different and the rest stays exactly the same. But still, I can’t say I was exactly eager to start Redesigned.

The first few pages almost got me to put it away again, but, luckily, I followed through.

The first thing that got me was the fact that the characters, for once, actually acted their age. In nearly every single other college-set book, the characters, the MC’s in particular, are basically just teenagers stuck in a twenty-something body. Hell, they don’t even act like they’re fifteen, but more like middle schoolers. Reed and Caroline knew when they were in the wrong and, instead of acting all stubborn about it, they actually acted on it and took lessons from their mistakes.

And let me say I have not read chemistry like this in a good looong while. Which was also surprising since I didn’t expect there to be a lot of, let alone any, sex. But boy, was there. I like my books with a good bit of sex but also not the lovey-dovey kind, so I think this books might be just perfect for me.

I did kind of suspect some of the plot twist, but not enough to make the story boring. And I have to say, I don’t think this book could ever be boring, with a guy like Reed. I can honestly say I will never look at suited-up, math guys the same again. In my head I will probably keep comparing them to Reed though.
“Could that guy be as bossy? As alpha? As hot under that shirt? As good and wild in bed?”
Even his passion for freaking maths turned me on a bit. And I don’t think anyone would ever think mathemathics could be an aphrodesiac.

Let me just say, if you’re turned off by this book because you think this is all about a gold-digger versus math nerd, please take my word for it and just dive in.
You will never be as pleasantly surprised as with Redesigned.

Leave a Reply

