Bad Things (Tristan & Danika #1) – R.K. Lilley


Bad Things (Tristan & Danika #1) - R.K. Lilley

 

Danika hasn’t had an easy life. Being insanely attracted to bad boys has never helped make it easier. 

One look at Tristan, and every brain cell she possessed went up in smoke. This man was trouble with a capital T. It was a given.
She knew better. Bad boys were bad. Especially for her. Considering her history, it was crazy to think otherwise. So why did crazy have to feel so damn fine?

For as long as she could remember, Danika had been focused on the future with single-minded purpose. Tristan came along and taught her everything there was to know about letting go, and living in the present. She fell, hard and deep. Of course, that only made her impact with the ground that much more devastating.

Bad Things is about Tristan and Danika, and their train wreck of a love story. This series can be read as a standalone, or with the Up in the Air series.

 

 

★★★☆☆

Oh help, I don’t know whether to give this books 2 or 4 stars. The logical solution would be to give a it a three-star rating, but that doesn’t fit either.

Bad Things wasn’t at all like I was expecting it to be. I understood that the Tristan & Danika series was actually a spin-off from the Up In The Air series, and those kinds of books usuallly don’t even make it on my to-read list. Certainly not when, as with this one, the book is ‘related’ to Fifty Shades in any sort of way.
I didn’t even like Fifty Shades all that much, and the wannabe’s are even worse.

But it started out good. Danika is young and sassy, which I like. Tristan is fun and not brooding, which I also like. And they had a great friendship, which I liked even better.

The teasing, the sexual tension, the comfortable air around those two, it was all great. It lasted a while, too, which in most books, if there even is a friendship to begin with, is not the case.

The sexiness Danika and Tristan had going, was definitely some of the best I have read in a while, if not ever. Mind that I did say ‘some of‘.

Things started to go bad the moment they slept together. Even the sex itself wasn’t really, truly what the tension, the teasing had it cracked up to be.

What was worse was the way they were around each other after. It was all sex all the time. If I ever fall in love, I do want the guy to still be my best friend, especially if he was before the relationship.

From there, the entire book went in a downwards spiral. There just wasn’t any fun anymore. Danika and Tristan got to be so bad, so obsessed with each other, you could clearly tell it wasn’t even healthy anymore.

And after the house party from hell, it all went down the drain. At 70% I started regularly looking at my location in the book, growing tired of the story and the character’s semantics. But after the party scene occured, I just wanted to quit it alltogether.

I will give this book the benifit of the doubt and give it three stars, and I’ll even put the sequel on my to-read list, but I’m so sure I won’t even bother to read it. The story is finished for me, it was even before the actual end of the book, and it’s not a good sign if the author wants to drag it out some more.

Leave a Reply

