Make Me (Make or Break #1) – Amanda Heath


Make Me (Make or Break #1) - Amanda Heath

Make me, Channing. Make me fall. Push me, shove me, just make sure I get there.” I shout at him, taking a step back. His eyes clash with mine. I read the challenge there, making me take another step back.
He stalks the few steps to me and grabs my arms slamming his forehead down on mine, “I’ll make you.” His lips skim against mine as he continues to speak, “And I’ll be falling right there with you.

Paisley Vaughn grew up on the wrong side of the tracks. After finding her mother dead from an overdose, Paisley and her baby sister are shipped off to live with her maternal grandparents.

She always knew they were rich, she just didn’t realize how rich they were. Now she’s being forced to go to a prestigious high school. One where the tuition is more money then she’s ever seen.

Thinking these rich kids are going to be snobbish and rude, she’s surprised to find the Vaughn name means she is untouchable. Well unless your name is Channing Southerland.

Paisley has to navigate her new life and all the new people in it. While her mother might have lied about her grandparents, no one is lying about Channing. He’s beautiful, mean, arrogant, and turning her on.

Before long a war is fought, leaving Paisley wondering if she’ll be ruined or made. Though she might just fall irrevocably in love.

★★★☆☆

From the blurb and other reviews I read, I was actually expecting it to be a bit different. More like Tijan’s Fallen Crest High. If it had been, I wouldn’t even have been disappointed, considering FCH is probably my favourite Young Adult romance.

It didn’t start out that well, with Paisley being from the ‘wrong side of the tracks’, taking care of her little sister and not really caring that much about her mother dying.

But she did love her. Right.

It got better, fortunately. I actually really started to like it, as the whole teen living alone, partying (responsibly), acting all adult-like, massive sex-scenes, are my kind of thing. I loved the hate/sexual tension stuff and how they really got on eacht other’s nerves but still understood each other, in a way. (though the ‘I can see it in your actual eyeballs’ thing was a bit over the top)

At that point, I was willing to forgive the awful spelling mistakes and terrible, terrible syntax. I would’ve even overlooked the random words in the middle of a sentence that didn’t quite fit int he first place. (but Heath should definitely get an editor, or at least someone to read it over before publishing because this just won’t do.) I would’ve given her the benefit of the doubt, if the storyline had kept my interest. Which it didn’t.

Then, when they finally got together (which took far too long, for reasons I still don’t understand, let alone know) it got a bit too fast-paced and mushy.
Channing wasn’t the strong and silent type, such as Mason Kade is, but reminded me more of Stone. Meaning, he wasn’t necessarily a bad guy or awful character, but it’s just creepy the way he supposedly controlled the entire school and wooed Paisley without saying a thing.

The end was abrupt. Why not just end it on a (kinda) happy note, aside from the bathroom scene? Why squeeze in the grandma scene? It didn’t bring any more value to the story.

In the end, the blurb was deceiving and, except for the suddenly rich girl, neglecting parents, popular crowd bit, it wasn’t Tijan-like whatsoever. It wasn’t at all as dramatic as you’d think it’s be. Even the rich-kid-gang rivalry wasn’t alike. It wasn’t between two schools, and even though they kept warning and talking about it, nothing actually happened. Frustrating, if you ask me.

BUT, I will be reading Royal’s story. I can’t help myself.

Leave a Reply

