A is For Alpha Male – Laurel Ulen Curtis


A is For Alpha Male - Laurel Ulen Curtis

I’m Haley Whitfield, and I recently had the ingenious idea to enlist my mother, Allison, as my kick*ss sidekick and set out on a road trip.

This road trip wasn’t to be just any road trip, but a very special one indeed. An adventure with an acutely specific purpose– to find our other halves. The peanut butter to our jelly. The i to our Phone. The stripper to our pole.

If our romantic desires were a personal ad, they would read something like this.

** Two sassy women (Ages twenty-seven and forty-nine respectively–Ouch. Okay, ages twenty-seven and thirty–with nineteen years experience– respectively) seeking Alpha Males to love us with zeal and kiss us with skill. Gorgeous face and sexy, tattooed, hard body a must. If you aren’t a dangerous bad*ss with the x-rated skills and virility to match, don’t bother. Must be willing to protect us from danger, value our quirkiness, and keep your mouth shut when said quirkiness is what leads to said danger. Momma’s boys named Dan Smith need not apply.**

I know. It’s a bit wordy. In fact, it would probably cost a fortune. Luckily, we’re not ready for the personal ad. We’re not that desperate…yet.

This is my story.

★★★☆☆

Well, I don’t quite know what to think of this one.

First off, as some of you might know, I myself am I big Kristen Ashley Alpha Male Book Guy fan, so I thought it was fenomenal to have this book basically dedicated to her and her imaginary men.

It was kind of weird to have the heroine go on a road trip slash man hunt with her mum. I’m quite close with my parents, being an only child and all, but I certainly wouldn’t discuss a man’s ‘junk’ and his ability to use it with my parents. But maybe that’s because I’m not quite nearing my thirties yet and this main character incidentally was.
The mum thing ended up not being much of a bother, seeing as the entire book turned out not to be what I was expecting. I thought there would be more to the road trip and less to the romance between Dan and Haley. Not that I’m disappointed.

That said, I did immediately figure out what eventually would/should turn out to be a ‘plot twist’, but I’m guessing anyone would. The prologue kind of gave it away.
From the blurb I read on Goodreads (and, I admit, hanging my head in shame, the little sneak peaks I took, reading a couple of scenes in the middle of the book before even starting it), I actually thought Dan would be more of a friend-zoned guy and Haley would only later figure out he’s more than just a friend, but what do you know, it was the other way around! Kinda anyway. But that was the real plot twist to me.

I am rather frustrated at the lack of details and actual time spent together after all the flanter (I’ve been watching Geordie Shore lately so I’m taking a page out of their book -though I’m not sure any of them can actually read- so; flirty banter) and not to mention near phone sex on the phone. Obviously.

I loooved Dan and Haley though. Not only the way they interacted but also their seperate personalities. Haley was hilarious and witty but still strong and clever, while Dan has become one of my favourite book men. He’s actually even better than most of Kristen’s Alphas (which in itself is not a minor feat) because of bossing Haley around in dumb-speak like literally all of KA’s heroes do, he let Haley be Haley, all Haley, without any real drama, yelling or trying to change her and trying to get her to submit to him just because he’s badass and hot (and has all the qualities on the list). So basically Dan-o was all the good things of the Kristen Ashley men put together, without any of the bad. Because, truly, the only flaw I could find in him was that, at the end, he got a bit sappy for my -and any manly man’s- taste, but it wasn’t as bad as could be. And those vows, dear lordy. Yum.

I did wish to have a bit more of a story about Dan and his life, but my hunger for that was easily appeased by the author’s note saying that he’s get a little novella of his own.

So even though I absolutely adored both MC’s, for some reason I still feel reluctant to give this one four stars. It just wasn’t enough for me. Maybe it was the lack of Dan’s story or maybe it’s because it was just a little too quick-paced, I don’t really know. But on the other hand it really was an amazing book with a great story and great people, so that makes me feel guilty for not giving a four but a three. So I guess *Simon Cowell voice* it’s a 3.5 for me.

Leave a Reply

