Forsaken (Daughters of The Sea #1) – Kristen Day


Forsaken (Daughters of The Sea #1) - Kristen Day

Once you’ve been touched by darkness, it never leaves you…

Abandoned by her parents as an infant; seventeen year old Hannah spent her childhood wading through countless foster families until being adopted by the Whitmans three years ago. 
Unfortunately, Atlanta’s high society wasn’t quite ready for Hannah…or the strange events that plague her.
Chilling visions of murder, unexplained hallucinations, and a dark, mysterious guy who haunts her nightmares all culminate to set in motion a journey of self-discovery that will challenge everything she’s ever believed; not to mention her sanity. 
Sent to live at The House of Lorelei on Bald Head Island, NC for ‘kids like her’, Hannah quickly realizes things are not what they seem. Her fellow ‘disturbed’ teens are actually the descendents of mythical Sea Gods and Goddesses. And so is she.
But when Finn, the ghost from her dreams, appears in the flesh; her nightmares become reality and her dark visions begin coming true. Inexplicably drawn to him, she can’t deny the dangerous hold he has on her heart. The deadly secrets he harbors will ultimately test her courage and push the boundaries of her love.
She must decide if she is ready to embrace the ancient legend she is prophesized to be a part of. The fate of all the descendents will forever depend upon it.

I got a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. And to be honest, I’m a bit proud of this rview, because even the author liked and commented on it. Read on!

★★★★☆

It started off okay. A little ‘common’, you could say, but okay nonetheless. We’ve all read the stories and seen the films about the baby being dropped off at a house or the church steps (or, in this case, the police station) so that was nothing new.
What did intruige me though, was the seagod/godess aspect because, aside from the Percy Jackson books, I’ve never really seen, let alone read a book about those. I mean, it can be a fun read, but I’m getting really sick and tired of all those books with the vampires, werewolves and whatnot. And don’t even get me started on the freaking love triangles.

Anyway, I liked it. It wasn’t five-star-worthy, but it doesn’t deserve a bad or average rating either, so therefore, 3.5 stars.

The first thing that made me like Hannah/stasia (this was pre-anastasia, so we’ll go with Hannah for now) was that she isn’t whiny like Bella Swan some other female protagonists and stood up for herself and actually could do things on her own. That, and the tattoo of course. But really, you wouldn’t believe how many authors actually think the damsel-in-distress is still something most female readers want to see. We don’t want to read how some big bad man has to come save us every time we stub our toe.
Or perhaps that’s just my feminism showing.

What I didn’t find quite normal was that Hanastasia never seemed to freak out.
Minor spoilers ahead.
[My tattoo-that-isn’t-really-a-tattoo is shimmering? Big Whup.
My eyes suddenly changed colour? As if that doesn’t happen to everyone!
My almost-boyfriend might be a killer having set his sights on me (and not in a good way)? When’s the next date!
I’ve just witnessed a shark kill a Siren for me for almost being killed by said Siren? Yawn.
I’m actually really the daughter of the most powerful seagodess that has ever existed and am destined to be even more powerful? Let’s eat!]

End spoiler

At the risk of sounding dense since we’re talking about paranormal YA literature, it just wasn’t really realistic. Because, you know, if I found out I’m some sort of water nymph, I would’ve freaked out. Or at least been a little more apprehensive. On the other hand (yes, I often contradict myself), I did kinda like that there wasn’t some major freak-out followed by several chapters of coming to terms with what’s going on. That’s one part in these kinds of books that really bothers me and turns me off of the book. (Does that sentence even make sense?)

The girls, I adored. All so very different yet they fit together so well. They just complement each other perfectly. They’re open and friendly and accepting and don’t make a big deal out of living with the possible next sea queen/godess. Though what didn’t quite sit right was that they went from ‘no, bad finn, stay away’ to ‘i bet you had sex, you lil hot momma, he’s so rawr’.

And then there’s the part most sane girls have been waiting for Finn. Yes, what can I say about Finn?

*Just as a side note, can you believe I actually only just now got that’s it’s a pun. Finn. Like the fin of a fish. Or a shark, since that just seems more fitting.

But back to the review. Finn was the perfect mix of mysterious, dark, dangerous, witty, funny, flirty, secretive, protective and badboyness.
Sometimes conversation seemed a little forced. (Like with the English/French accents. I mean, what was that?) And a few of his lines were extremely clichéd, Stasia shouldn’t fall for them. For the rest, he was indeed incredibly swoon-worthy.

But then again, Stasia had some flaws of her own. Aside from the ones I’ve already named, there was the fact that when that one thing happened she and the girls were more worried about not getting to talk to Finn and spending Olivia’s money than actually worrying about the situation. Especially since they all knew what was about to happen.

And there was this one sentence that really shouldn’t bother me, but it does and I can’t get it out of my head.
“I’m broken.”
It’s probably just me, and I know she is broken from all that she’s been through, but people just don’t say those things to boys they like, do they? No matter how long you’ve ‘known’ the guy.

The last thing I want to adress, is probably also just me. You spend 200 pages slowly creating this world, building friendships and relationships and making mysteries and then BAM then there’s this really rushed climax which is really anti-climactic and leaves several of your questions unanswered or not properly anwsered and leaves you unsatisfied.
I know this is kind of the purpose of being a trilogy/series, but why’d she have to find out everything at once? And why wasn’t Finn’s relationship to Thetis properly explained? And who and what is Finn?

A Scion? What does that even mean.

Leave a Reply

