Until November (Until #1) – Aurora Rose Reynolds


Until November (Until #1) - Aurora Rose Reynolds

November is looking forward to getting to know her father and the safety of a small town. After leaving the big apple and her bad memories for Tennessee, November starts working for her dad at his strip club doing the books. The one time she’s allowed there during club hours she runs into Asher Mayson. He’s perfect until he opens his mouth and makes assumptions. November wants nothing to do with Asher but too bad for November fate has other plans. Asher Mayson has never had a problem getting a woman that is until November. Now all he can think about is making November his and keeping her safe. 

★★★★☆

Well, to be honest, I wasn’t really expecting much from this one. I guessed it was going to be something along the lines of Stripped [ Jasinda Wilder], but I am delighted to say, it wasn’t. At all.

It’s been ages since I last read a book that actually made me want to write a review, even though I have read one or two good ones in the past few months. So imagine my surprise when I was just taking a leisurly stroll in the world of new adult books and their tedious, predictable storylines and suddenly I realised that *GASP* I don’t hate this one!

It immediatly became clear to me that this author, Aurora Rose Reynolds, has read a lot of Kristen Ashley books. I understand that I refer to Ashley quite often in my reviews, but as she is one of my favourites, it’s kind of hard not to. Especially in this case, where Until November reminded me a lot of (any of) her books. Take your pick which one, because eventually they all have the same basis.
Boy meets girl; boy wants girl; girl wants boy but is in terrible, terrible denial; hotsexsexsex; HEA.

You might think this would become boring and, as I mentioned, predictable, and it is. Predictable, that is. But not in a bad way. More like, you know what to expect, mostly, so you won’t suddenly get your heart broken by one of the MC’s or get stuck with an awful cliffhanger. It’s nice, in a way that anything chocolat-ey is nice. You know how it tastes, yet you always long for the next piece and when you get it, you can’t help but want more. That’s what you can compare Kristen Ashley’s, and, apparently, Aurora Reynolds’ books to.

November was a lovely girl. Admittedly, at first I was a bit thrown off by the name. I’ve heard of June, April, May, July and even February, but November definitely was a first. I don’t get the appeal, but at least it didn’t reduce November’s (the character, not the name or month) loveliness.
I liked that she was awkward and tiny, but still not afraid to stand up for what she believes in and just has fun instead of constantly thinking of what other people, mainly the love interest, might think. I didn’t even get frustrated when she actually gave into Asher’s demands whishes because even I was in an ‘Asher fog’, and I haven’t even seen the guy!
The one thing that was definitely a turn-off for me, was that suddenly November’d get these random bouts of insecurity (which, in itself, really isn’t that bad, and quite understandable given her history) and self-pity.
But nevermind that. Let’s just agree that the girl was pretty dang awesome and move onto Asher!

Actually, there’s not that much to be said about him. Whereas you could actually see November grow (up) and adjust to having a real family and such, there wasn’t really any character developement when in came to Ash. I still don’t really know what, exactly, he does for a living. We don’t know a lot of things, actually.
But we do know that he’s hot, funny, uncomplicated and basically everything a girl could possibly want in a guy, without being too over the top about it.
His only minus was the constant ‘baby’-ing. Literally. I hate when people constantly use sickeningly sweet nicknames instead of their actual names, but that’s a personal ‘thingie‘ of mine. Which also makes me sound like a single, bitter, old hag.

Same goes for Mike’s ‘baby girl’ thing. I mean, I know you’ve only known November for 7 years, but still, 7 years without using her name. No.

The story went quick, but not too much so. It read smoothly and it’s cute. But I was expecting a longer, more drawn-out ending, and not the bam-slam-thank you ma’am that it was, which made it not only unexpectedly confusing, but also a bit anti-climactic.

Luckily we still had the sugary sweet epilogue to make up for it, so in the end it’s all good.

And I just checked and saw the next book is going to be about Trevor, so I’m already wondering how that’ll play out, seeing as we kind of already saw the end (or start?) of his story.

Leave a Reply

